Cristiano Ronaldo knocks Off Lionel Messi & Neymar to Win 2017 Ballon d'Or

Cristiano Ronaldo knocks Off Lionel Messi & Neymar to Win 2017 Ballon d’Or

Portugal and Real Madrid forward Cristiano Ronaldo has been named the winner of the 2017 Ballon d’Or. He won the 2017 Ballon d’Or with a record-breaking 946 points, no player has ever had that many points in the HISTORY of the Ballon d’Or.

The 32-year-old beat Barcelona star Lionel Messi and Paris Saint-Germain attacker Neymar to claim the prestigious award for the fifth time. In the 2016-17 season, Ronaldo helped Los Blancos retain the Champions League, as well as winning their first La Liga title since 2012.

The former Sporting Lisbon and Manchester United prodigy is now level on Ballons d’Or with 30-year-old Argentine Messi, who won the most recent of his five awards in 2015. Ronaldo also moved level with Messi at the top of the all-time Champions League group stage goalscorers leaderboard on Wednesday after helping Madrid to claim a 3-2 win over Borussia Dortmund.

Tottenham Hotspur striker Harry Kane was the highest-ranked Englishman in 10th spot, while Chelsea and France midfielder N’Golo Kante finished eighth.

2017 Ballon d’Or final standings:

1. Cristiano Ronaldo (Real Madrid)
2. Lionel Messi (Barcelona)
3. Neymar (Paris Saint-Germain)
4. Gianluigi Buffon (Juventus)
5. Luka Modric (Real Madrid)
6. Sergio Ramos (Real Madrid)
7. Kylian Mbappe (Paris Saint-Germain)
8. N’Golo Kante (Chelsea)
9. Robert Lewandowski (Bayern Munich)
10. Harry Kane (Tottenham Hotspur)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.