Godswill Akpabio reveals the names of lawmakers on NDDC contracts’ list

On the 20 July, 2020, Nigeria witness one of the most controversial hearings during the NDDC investigative hearing on the alleged mismanagement of funds, as the Minister of Niger Delta Affairs, Godswill Akpabio alleged that 60 percent of the contracts were awarded to National Assembly members.

On the 23 July, 2020, the House resolved to sue Akpabio for alleged perjury and defamation of the parliament, as they seek to unveil the truth behind his statement above.

Godswill Akpabio has finally put some names to the alleged 60 percent National Assembly members as the following names were linked; Senator Matthew Urhoghide, Samuel Anyanwu, Peter Nwaoboshi, Mr. Nicholas Mutu (former Chairman, House of Rep. Committee of the NDDC). It was also revealed that non-lawmakers name was also mentioned.

According to report from the Punch, it was learnt that, Godswill Akpabio, did not provide the cost of the projects against the lawmaker’s names mentioned. As the drama unfolds, Nigerians are yet to react to the Ministers list as he didn’t state if they were directly awarded the contract or they nominated it under their zonal (as constituency projects).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.