Cristiano Ronaldo Achieves New Feat, Wins 2020 Golden Foot Award.(See List Of Previous Winners)

Cristiano Ronaldo has won the 18th edition of the Golden Foot Award, beating Lionel Messi, Robert Lewandowski and Mohamed Salah.

An annual prize which was first introduced in 2003, the Golden Foot award, unlike the Ballon d’Or, can only be won once in a player’s career and it is a shock that it took Ronaldo so long to win the honour.

The trophy is voted for by the general public from a shortlist of 10 players every year.

The Golden Foot winner also gets to have a cast of his foot laid down in the Champions Promenade in Monaco.

The 18 footballers who have won the very elusive prize so far are:

2003 – Roberto Baggio
2004 – Pavel Nedved
2005 – Andriy Shevchenko
2006 – Ronaldo Nazario
2007 – Alessandro Del Piero
2008 – Roberto Carlos
2009 – Ronaldinho
2010 – Francesco Totti
2011 – Ryan Giggs
2012 – Zlatan Ibrahimovic
2013 – Didier Drogba
2014 – Andres Iniesta
2015 – Samuel Eto’o
2016 – Gianluigi Buffon
2017 – Iker Casillas
2018 – Edinson Cavani
2019 – Luka Modric
2020 – Cristiano Ronaldo

It was a Juventus Double in this tournament, as President Andrea Agnelli was also given the first edition of the Golden Foot Prestige, chosen by a commission of international media figures.

About Peter Okiokpa

Electronics Engineer. Digital Entrepreneur. Blogger. Writer. Christlike.😇

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed. Protection Status