Osimhen, Balogun, Dennis Out From Super Eagles AFCON Squad.

atOptions = { ‘key’ : ‘e5b11f2440c9b873f3ab68670418c554’, ‘format’ : ‘iframe’, ‘height’ : 90, ‘width’ : 728, ‘params’ : {} }; document.write(”);

Four players have been pulled out from the Super Eagles 28-man list ahead of the 33rd AFCON tournament.

The four players who have been dropped are Victor Osimhen, Abdullahi Shehu, Leon Balogun and Emmanuel Dennis.

Prolific forward, Victor Osimhen’s was dropped after a positive test to the coronavirus pandemic a couple of days ago.

Osimhen’s absence paves way for Greece-based Henry Onyekuru who was also at the last finals in Egypt.

While defender Abdullahi Shehu’s injury has constrained him from featuring in Nigeria’s final 28-man list for the 33rd Africa Cup of Nations starting in Cameroon next weekend.

Cyprus –based Shehu, who can slot easily into sections of the defence and midfield, has made way for right back Tyrone Ebuehi, who plays for Venezia in the Italian Serie A.

England-based Oluwasemilogo Ajayi returns to the group for Africa’s flagship football championship following injury to centre-back Leon Balogun.

In-form striker Emmanuel Dennis has been excused by his club Watford after claims that the NFF failed to submit an invitational letter in time. This provides room for Czech Republic-based forward Peter Olayinka.

Osimhen, Balogun, Dennis Out From Super Eagles AFCON Squad.

Also Read: Meet New Super Eagles Coach Jose Peseiro, All You Need To Know About Him.

Below is the updated 28-man list for the Super Eagles at AFCON:

Goalkeepers: Francis Uzoho (AC Omonia, Cyprus); John Noble (Enyimba FC); Daniel Akpeyi (Kaizer Chiefs, South Africa); Maduka Okoye (Sparta Rotterdam, The Netherlands)

Defenders: Chidozie Awaziem (Alanyaspor FC, Turkey); Kenneth Omeruo (CD Leganes, Spain); Oluwasemilogo Ajayi (West Bromwich Albion, England); William Ekong (Watford FC, England); Olaoluwa Aina (Torino FC, Italy); Jamilu Collins (SC Padeborn 07, Germany); Tyrone Ebuehi (Venezia FC, Italy); Zaidu Sanusi (FC Porto, Portugal); Olisa Ndah (Orlando Pirates, South Africa)

Midfielders: Frank Onyeka (Brentford FC, England); Joseph Ayodele-Aribo (Galsgow Rangers, Scotland); Wilfred Ndidi (Leicester City, England); Chidera Ejuke (CSKA Moscow, Russia); Kelechi Nwakali (SD Huesca, Spain)

Forwards: Ahmed Musa (Fatih Karagumruk, Turkey); Samuel Chukwueze (Villarreal FC, Spain); Henry Onyekuru (Olympiacos FC, Greece); Moses Simon (FC Nantes, France); Sadiq Umar (UD Almeria, Spain); Taiwo Awoniyi (Union Berlin, Germany); Odion Jude Ighalo (Al-Shabab Riyadh, Saudi Arabia); Alex Iwobi (Everton FC, England); Kelechi Iheanacho (Leicester City, England); Peter Olayinka (SK Slavia Praha, Czech Republic).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.