PDP Wins All 16 Councils In Taraba LGA Elections.

On Wednesday, The Taraba State Independent Electoral Commission (TSIEC) on Wednesday declared the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) the majority winners of the Taraba LG polls. As the Party won all the 16 local government councils in the state.

Declaring the results in Jalingo, Dr Philip Duwe, Chairman of the Taraba State elcetoral commission, disclosed that the ruling PDP had won the Councillorship in 168 council wards in the state.

Duwe said that the election was peaceful and was held in compliance with best public hygiene protocols meant to curb the spread of the COVID-19 pandemic.

He commended the people of the state for coming out in good numbers to participate in the election.

However, according to media reports the main opposition political party in the state, the All Progressives Congress (APC), had earlier announced that it would boycott the elections in protest against what it called ‘bias by the umpire.’

Meanwhile the Speaker Taraba State House of Assembly, Dr Joseph Kunini, congratulated all candidates of the PDP on their victory at the polls.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.